Welcome to the Official Westbury Town Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News: Please take a moment to read the Forum Rules
 

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Westbury web sites  (Read 897 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
hermes2007
Guest
« on: July 01, 2010, 07:15:32 »

White Horse Country Park
http://www.whitehorsecountrypark.co.uk/

Westbury People
http://www.westburypeople.co.uk/home
You need to register (I used my Google account) to comment. I commented on the Swimming Pool meeting report as much of it was simply wrong. Still hopefully it will improve and it is up to date.  Not sure who runs / funds this.
Logged
hermes2007
Guest
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 10:25:21 »

My comment on the Westbury People site:

Kim, there doesn't seem anyway to send you an email - which is unusual. Could you post something about what you think the purpose of this site is. Westbury is already well served with two busy forums and a site rather similar to this. They all have links eg. to the Town Council site, Heritage Centre etc. whereas this seems rather isolated. I can't quite see the point of just posting press releases with no comment or background. Don't want to discourage you but I can't see quite what the point is.

I just can't see what it's point is?

Logged
mleonard
New to the area
*

Karma: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 12:29:05 »

They're trying to make money. Why else?
But I can't see them competing with facebook somehow.

http://www.journalism.co.uk/2/articles/537608.php

http://www.localpeople.co.uk/advertisers.html
Logged
Chubby Cheeks
Guest
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2010, 12:38:50 »

Resistering with the site is an absolute nightmare. I'm also extremely wary of any site that asks for my username and password for another site. It didn't get them.

1/10 maybe less.

Logged
mleonard
New to the area
*

Karma: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2010, 12:51:39 »

Aren't they just trying to save you the hassle of registering all your details and having yet another login to remember?

You are quite right to be cautious but I do not believe that this site actually gets to see your password.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenID
Logged
Chubby Cheeks
Guest
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2010, 13:03:45 »

Aren't they just trying to save you the hassle of registering all your details and having yet another login to remember?




I can think of no reason whatsoever why I would give AAA my password when dealing with BBB. If one password were to be hacked the lot would go down. No thanks
Logged
hermes2007
Guest
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2010, 13:06:06 »

If you can read Ms Herbings reply to my comment she manages to answer none of the points I've raised. It implies it is some sort of franchise or at least, as said above, some commercial thing. Do we need it in Westbury ?

By the way I signed on very quickly with my Google id. Nothing to protect there for me, unless someone else wants to do my blogs for me.

I'm wary of sites where you can't talk direct to the 'webmaster'. I much prefer this forum.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.055 seconds with 19 queries.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Welcome to the Official Westbury Town Forums LiveMC Theme by grafitus